Post-dive hanging out in Khao Lak

It’s been really great hanging around in Khao Lak since I left the dive boat. Great company, lovely beaches, too many beers, beautiful surrounding countryside and some more lovely chill-out time before heading towards Bangkok.

resizedIMG_2969khaolak resizedIMG_3091khaolak resizedIMG_3097khaolak

I could get used to a regime of morning ocean swims, beach walks, leisurely breakfasts then hanging about. If it wasn’t for the fact that the clock is ticking and I have a whole lot more of Asia to see in my final weeks here then I’d be tempted to plant my feet.

resizedIMG_3099khaolak resizedIMG_3107khaolak resizedIMG_2976khaolak

Yesterday I hired a scooter and headed out to the ‘Chong Fa Waterfall’ about 8km out of town. It was so nice to be back on a bike, winding my way through the forests of palms with the wind in my hair (well, through my seriously-dodgy Thai helmet actually).  I arrived as the sky was starting to darken and took the 1km climb up to the falls for a dip in a pool full of ‘cleaner fish’. This was a very odd sensation. The little fish wait for you to stay still for a while, then start nibbling at your skin, eating away the dead skin cells. At first it made me jumpy, but after a while I got used to it (until one particularly big fish bit me on the bum and I decided it was time to move). I then sat under the gushing falls for a seriously-deep-tissue water massage. It was fantastic! I had the place to myself, so swum around a bit looking up at the trees and watching a rain storm roll in. Luckily I was already drenched so I didn’t mind the rain on the journey home.

I’m looking forward to returning here in December, but in the meantime I had to catch my night bus to Bangkok.

About lucygriffith

Off to seek adventures backpacking in Asia between September and December 2010
This entry was posted in Thailand, Travel Diary. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Post-dive hanging out in Khao Lak

  1. Karine Mouflin says:

    Hello Lucy,
    You make me dream…. this is magic!!
    Thanks for the blog & enjoy the rest of your trip, Big hugs
    Karine M

Leave a Reply

